The Old 'Nibble and Clink'
Helmdon in Northamptonshire can proudly boast being one of
the best villages in the region - it won the county's Village
of the Year in 1966, 1999 and 2002.
About 800 people live in Helmdon which, in years gone by,
depended greatly on farming and was able to support many of
its own needs. The village also has a railway history having
been home to a station on the long abandoned Great Central
The line which ran through the village, is known locally as
the 'nibble and clink'.
Although this closed in 1966 a rail viaduct built in the 1890s,
crosses Helmdon brook providing spectacular views.
Welsh lane runs across the south of the village providing
access to the town of Brackley.
Helmdon Primary School currently has about 100 pupils, many
from outside the village, and is well regarded.
The only remaining pub in the village is the Bell, so named
because in days gone by it was the nearest hostelry to the
church of St Mary Magdalene.
The church has sat on the highest ground in the village for
many hundreds of years.
There are six bells in the church tower, the earliest of which
dates back to 1679.
Another building which plays a key part in community life
is the Reading Room, which hosts many village activities.
On the village green, which overlooks the viaduct, a war memorial
can be found.
The Banbury Guardian - 24th December 2003
Ed Note: In fact, the information above is not accurate.
The Great Central Railway has never been called the 'nibble
The line called the 'nibble and clink' was the Northampton
& Banbury Junction railway, later the LMS line, which
ran under the Great Central viaduct. Along this small valley
line went the cattle and coal that went to Banbury and Northampton
For more information refer to the Village
Trail, or go straight to the article "The
Railways of Helmdon".